Your Skin Does NOT Define YOU

Just this week, I surprised myself. I put on makeup three days IN A ROW. For the past few months I’ve actually very rarely put on the war paint.

I suppose my reasons for not putting on makeup are 1) I want to let my skin breathe, 2) I’ve had only rare occasions when I actually needed to put it on (that post-grad life), and 3) I h-a-t-e taking makeup off at night (I mean, who likes to?). At school, I definitely used to put on makeup more often and for work I always did as well. But recently, it’s been pretty nice having the au-naturel makeup look.

This had me thinking about why us women (and men) feel the need to cover up our face everyday. It’s like the unnatural is the new natural in terms of our looks.

Don’t get me wrong, I love to put on makeup. Probably because it’s a chance for my very (very) small creative-side to peek through. But I’m fortunate in the fact that my reasoning for applying makeup isn’t to cover up my blemishes or redness on my face. But simply from enjoyment and to accentuate my features.

I wholeheartedly respect that EVERYONE has their own insecurities. And recently I’ve noticed some talk about insecurities regarding blemishes on social media. As in “not being able to grab a coffee at Starbucks via the drive-thru without makeup on” type of talk. I definitely used to lean toward these thoughts in high school and I think overtime I subconsciously discovered how unimportant my skin appearance really is. Plus, I just don’t give a care anymore.

And that’s why I wanted to write this post. To encourage anyone out there to literally love the skin they’re in and embrace any skin imperfections.

Your appearance is not who you really ARE and does not define your character, abilities, or strengths.

Of course, this is easier said than done, but if you think about the bigger picture of your life, will you really remember that redness on your skin a year from now? Or will you remember how incredible of a person you were listening and giving advice to a friend when they needed it? Or how about that awesome time when you worked your peach off at work and gave a wicked presentation to your coworkers? And maybe even got a promotion? It’s these times that matter most and these times that you WILL build your confidence from.

Now, it’s not reasonable for us women to never wear makeup. And I’m not saying I’m against wearing makeup at all. I’m just saying the reason for putting it on is what’s important. I hope I made that clear!

There are a few tips that I have to keep your skin in its best condition for times when you may not want to wear any makeup. Or even to just help your makeup apply a bit smoother.

1. Manage your stress the best you can. I don’t know about you, but one of the first physical indicators that I am stressed out are those pesky little blemishes that appear on my chin and forehead. And I won’t always avoid them. But keeping stress at bay can help them go away a bit easier. I wrote an entire post about ways to destress in the evenings and this can be applied to just whenever you feel you need to relax. I encourage you to check it out!

2. SLEEP. In my opinion, sleep is one of THE most important factors to staying healthy and at your best self in general. This study shows how the ageing of your skin is affected by your quality of sleep. Prioritize your sleep, peeps!

3. Have a balanced diet. If you find it difficult to eat fruits and vegetables, perhaps this article will encourage you to eat your few a day to achieve a healthy complexion (among the MANY other benefits). I believe that generally looking after yourself and giving yourself a balance between what your body needs (fruits, vegetables, fats, etc.) and what your mind needs (i.e. chocolate, ice cream, etc.) is most important to having overall healthy skin.

4. Find a simple skincare routine that works for you. With SO MANY products on the market these days, it’s pretty intimidating to know which ones to choose from or how many to use! I used to have pretty bad ache and tried so many skincare regimens in the past. And honestly, as I have sensitive skin, the majority of them caused my skin to dry out and breakout like crazy. I’ve narrowed down products that have always worked for me (along with a gentle moisturizer) and use these most of the time. They include Clinique’s Clarifying Lotion 3 and Moisture Surge. I’ll also throw in The Body Shop’s Aloe Calming Toner  or Aloe Soothing Rescue Cream Mask to switch up my routine.

If showing your bare face to the world is intimidating for you, I encourage you to think about the bigger picture of your life and how the condition of your skin does not define who you are as a person. Use makeup as a way to emphasize your features and not as a mask to cover your skin up. Also, try using some of those tips to take care of yourself.

I hope this helps! How do you like to take care of your skin? Do you have any no-makeup days?

Until next time,

M

 

Sources:

Paddock, Catharine. “Skin Tone Linked To Fruit And Vegetable Consumption.” Medical News Today. MediLexicon, Intl., 9 Mar. 2012. Web.
20 Apr. 2017. <http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/242679.php&gt;

Oyetakin-White P, Suggs A, Koo B, Matsui MS, Yarosh D, Cooper KD, Baron ED. Does poor sleep quality affect skin ageing? Clin Exp Dermatol. 2015 Jan;40(1):17-22. doi: 10.1111/ced.12455. Epub 2014 Sep 30. PubMed PMID: 25266053.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

