My Stress Relief Evening Routine

Last week was one of those weeks for me. “Give me some chocolate and lets watch old Disney movies all night” kind of week. It wasn’t any one event that caused me to stress-out, but many completely random events. And I know you’ve been there too.

Being an anxious person, I am still learning (note: present tense) just how impactful stress is on my body and mind. This had me thinking about my evening routine and how I like to chill out. Then I remembered I started a blog and, well, here we are!

I cannot stress enough (*hits palm to forehead*) how important it is to develop an evening routine for yourself. Not only will you sleep better, which is SO KEY when having a crap week, but it’s also something you can always look forward to to unwind.

Without further ado, here is my stress relief evening routine:

IMG_0188.JPG

Take a bath with Epson Salt and essential oils. Now, I NEVER thought I would turn into a “bath person.” I didn’t even have one until about a year ago. But they seriously do wonders to fully relax my body and alleviate any tension I may be having. I will always light some candles and put in two handfuls of Dr. Teal’s Epsom Salt that I buy from Costco (which has two 6lb bags). Epsom Salt contains Magnesium Sulfate which is great for soothing your muscles. I will also sometimes put in a few drops of lavender or peppermint essential oil for the added calming benefit. And if I’m feeling extra luxurious, I’ll add in some bubbles and a bath bomb (but honestly, I’ve only ever had two bath bombs in my life. Post-college “what even is money” feels, amIright?).

Have a nice treat. Yes, I am someone who always has my after-dinner snack. Sometimes two if I’m still hungry (listening to that BODY). This basically always involves some dark chocolate with some nut/seed butter (if you didn’t know, I’m ADDICTED to nut butters. No shame in my game) alongside whatever else I’m craving. I say my daily treat is relaxing because I always look forward to it after dinner. Hits me in the happy feels, ya know?

Do night-time yoga/stretching. When I reach this point of my evening routine, I know it’s about time to go to bed. This lasts usually about ten minutes for me to physically tell my body it’s time for some sleep. I love using YouTube to find night-time yoga videos (Tara Stiles is my favorite) or I’ll just do some calming stretches on my own.

EATZ5191

Make some sleepy-time tea. I actually hate the taste of plain chamomile tea. But some sleepy-time teas have other added flavors that can mask it. And let me tell you, you’ll feel like you’ve entered the wardrobe to sleepy-time land once you start drinking them.

Take a magnesium supplement. Since I am NOT a doctor, I am NOT saying you should just start taking magnesium. I was actually recommended to take it from a dietitian, so you could ask your doctor if it’s also right for you. But there is some research to suggest that magnesium can help improve your quality and quantity of sleep.¹ I’m all about that!

Diffuse lavender essential oil. Again, there are some studies about the benefits of inhaling essential oils to relax, specifically lavender.² I honestly just LOVE the smell. I bought the Sparoom Aromafier Portable Fragrance Essential Oil Diffuser from Whole Foods that doesn’t need any water or heat and runs from batteries. I’ll put four drops of lavender on the pad, get in my bed, and head over to snooze-town.

I hope this encourages you to find a routine that helps you to relax, especially come nighttime. How do you like to unwind?

Until next time,

M

Sources:

1. Lillehei AS, Halcon LL. A systematic review of the effect of inhaled essential oils on sleep. J Altern Complement Med. 2014 Jun;20(6):441-51. doi: 10.1089/acm.2013.0311. Epub 2014 Apr 10. Review. PubMed PMID: 24720812.
2. Abbasi B, Kimiagar M, Sadeghniiat K, Shirazi MM, Hedayati M, Rashidkhani B. The effect of magnesium supplementation on primary insomnia in elderly: A double-blind placebo-controlled clinical trial. J Res Med Sci. 2012 Dec;17(12):1161-9. PubMed PMID: 23853635; PubMed Central PMCID: PMC3703169.

 

 

One thought on “My Stress Relief Evening Routine

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

