Finding YOUR Fitness Routine

I don’t know about you, but the moment the weather starts getting warmer, I feel more motivated to switch-up my workout routine. I love the change of seasons (and less dreary winter days), so I seem to acquire a little “pep in my step” when spring comes around to make my workouts more interesting. This had me thinking about what I believe is an important topic for overall good health. And that is: finding a workout routine that suits YOU.

In general, there is an insane amount of information in the fitness world (especially online) that is confuuusing! From fitness gurus promoting their fitness plans to articles in magazines sharing the “best” way to stay fit to local gyms sending out fliers for their classes at a discounted rate. Man, where does someone begin?

I want to point out as well that there is a pretty great amount of MISinformation out there. And it is SO ABSOLUTELY VITAL that you seek information from trusted experts with certifications in their specific field. NOT some health junkie you follow on Instagram. That goes for more than just fitness as well, but that’s for another time.

Going off of that, I am aware that I am not an expert and I only have my personal experience with fitness. Therefore, I will not be providing workouts or telling you how you “should” stay fit. The point of this post is to share that . . .

there is no “right” way to stay fit and your workout routines can change over time to suit your needs at that time.

Hate going to the gym? Then go outside or stay in your house! Hate running? Then try resistance training or walk instead! You get the picture. As a side note, walking is one of the most underrated forms of fitness IMO. So if other forms aren’t interesting to you, try walking for even 15 minutes. It not only keeps you moving, but also clears your mind!

One week you may want to strength train three times and do a sweaty HIIT session once. The next week, if you’re feeling a bit sluggish, you may just do some stretching and yoga a couple of times. Then you can pick up the weights again the following week if you’re feeling up to it. Listening to your body is healthy, so do what’s right for you in the moment!

It’s easy to look at other people’s posts on Instagram or follow a rigid exercise program that involves “strength training four days a week and running on the other days.” Well, personally, that is WAY too much exercise and not enough time to recover. Comparing yourself to other people (guilty of this myself) does not allow you to put your needs first. You are YOU while they are themselves. What serves them may not serve you, and that is okay. This is not a “one size fits all” lifestyle, so do what makes YOU happy!

Another point I want to reiterate from my previous post is that your intention behind working out is something you should want to, NOT something that you have to. This is so incredibly important considering that there is a very fine line between fitness actually benefiting your life or fitness attempting to fill some other void in an unhealthy way.

I feel like I could write on and on about this, but (cue the cheesy/dramatic music):

finding enjoyment out of fitness is how you’ll find enjoyment out of L.I.F.E.

I hope this benefited you in some way. Let me know your thoughts down below!

Until next time,

M

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

